Maryland DUI Lawyer Explains “Drunk Driving with Minors”

Drunk Driving With Minors

Though drunk driving laws in Maryland are already harsh, things can become magnitudes worse for those who are found to be driving under the influence with minor children in the vehicle.

Maryland law says that existing penalties for drunk driving will be enhanced in cases where an intoxicated driver is found to have transported a passenger under the age of 18.  Beyond normal penalties, a conviction for aggravated drunk driving/child endangerment is punishable with large fines and substantial jail time.


Maryland law says that if a driver is convicted of a DWI with a minor in the vehicle, then the first time offense carries a fine of $1,000 instead of the usual $500 fine. Those convicted of DUI with a minor will see their maximum fine double from $1,000 to $2,000 and their maximum jail time increase from one year to two.

Second or subsequent DWI convictions with a child in the car will result in a $2,000 fine, as opposed to a standard $500 fine. Second DUI convictions with children result in $3,000 fines and a maximum of three years behind bars.

For a third DUI violation, drivers in Maryland face a $4,000 fine instead of a $3,000 fine if no child was in the car. The chance of serving jail time also increases dramatically.

Need help with a Maryland traffic ticket or drunk driving offense? Call me at 301-563-9575 or 1-877-566-2408 for a free consultation. I’m an experienced Maryland criminal defense lawyer and I’d be happy to help. I practice law throughout the entire State of Maryland.