Maryland DWI Defense Lawyer Explains DUI/DWI Laws in Maryland

DUI vs. DWI In Maryland

Though many people use phrases like driving under the influence or driving while impaired interchangeably, the fact is that under Maryland law there is an important distinction between the two criminal charges. Maryland drunk driving laws note a difference between being over the legal limit and other cases where a driver is seen as driving while impaired by alcohol.


Driving while impaired (DWI) is considered the less serious offense and, because of this, the penalties for those who are convicted of DWI are less severe than for those who are convicted of DUI. Drivers in Maryland can be arrested and charged with DWI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) falls somewhere between 0.07 and 0.08 percent.

Often times, those individuals whose breath test shows BAC at the low end of the spectrum but who have trouble passing field sobriety tests end up with the DWI charge. Many times officer discretion is the determining factor in such cases.


In Maryland, the law says that you can be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if a police officer determines that your BAC is 0.08 percent or higher. This number, 0.08 percent, is what is known as the legal limit for alcohol consumption in Maryland.

Need help with a Maryland traffic ticket or drunk driving offense? Call me at 301-563-9575 or 1-877-566-2408 for a free consultation. I’m an experienced Maryland criminal defense lawyer and I’d be happy to help. I practice law throughout the entire State of Maryland.