Maryland DWI Lawyer Explains License Restrictions

Restricted Licenses In Maryland

If you have been arrested and charged with a drunk driving offense in Maryland you are likely concerned with your ability to drive.  Driving is not only important for maintaining your freedom of movement, but it is often essential to being able to work and care for your children. Thankfully, in Maryland there are options so that drivers can maintain licenses under certain situations.

What is a restricted license?

A restricted license is just what it sounds like, a driver’s license that comes with certain restrictions. Restricted licenses can be issued to drivers so that they can continue driving to and from school, alcohol treatment centers, work or childcare facilities.

Requirement for restricted license

Maryland driving regulations state that if a driver submits to a breath test and is found to have a BAC between 0.08 and 0.15 percent, that person can be eligible for a restricted license.

Though they are not required, a letter from your employer that explains your need for a vehicle will be helpful in your effort to receive a restricted license. Copies of pay stubs and other documentation of your job also help. If you’re in school or participating in an alcohol treatment program, enrollment documents are helpful to prove your genuine need.

Other circumstances

Under Maryland law it’s possible that some drivers will be able to avoid a total loss of their driving privileges even in cases where they either refused to take a breath test or where their BAC was found tobe 0.15 percent or higher. In these cases, if a person is willing to install an ignition interlock device on their, a suspension can usually be avoided.

Need help with a Maryland traffic ticket or drunk driving offense? Call me at 301-563-9575 or 1-877-566-2408 for a free consultation. I’m an experienced Maryland criminal defense lawyer and I’d be happy to help. I practice law throughout the entire State of Maryland.