Learn About the New Restart Rule For Maryland Truck Drivers

New Restart Rule For Maryland CDL Drivers

2013 is coming with a big change for Maryland truck drivers.  Starting July 1 2013, the FMCSA is instating a new restart rule limiting when CDL holders can start driving after an off-duty break. The days of working 82-hour weeks are over. Instead, the new rule requires drivers to take a “34-hour restart” after 60 service hours in 7 consecutive days or 70 service hours in 8 consecutive days.

During this 34-hour period, drivers will be required to catch two nights’ sleep between 1 am and 5 am. A 30-minute rest is also mandated by the new rule, to be taken any time within an 8-hour driving window. When the 8-hour window is up, CMV operators cannot get back on the road until the 30-minute rest is taken.

Violating hours-of-service regulations mean big penalties for trucking companies and drivers. Exceeding the 11-hour rule by 3 hours can cost a company $11000 and drivers $2750 per offense. New rules take some getting used to. Follow the path of least resistance and go with the flow.

Are you a CDL holder or Maryland truck driver that needs help with a Maryland traffic offense?  Call me BEFORE you go to court or pay any tickets at 301-563-9575 or 1-877-566-2408.  I’m an experienced Maryland traffic ticket lawyer who handles cases for Maryland truck drivers throughout the entire State of Maryland.